Posted in Uncategorized

To the little girl who always dreamt of this day.

I had always hoped in the deepest part of my heart that I would get a chance to see Wonder Woman brought to life on the big screen. I never had any idea who I wanted to play the role, but I did know that I wanted a woman to direct it. Hollywood being chauvinistic, I didn’t think it would be for a quite a while.

Then it happened. They announced it. Wonder Woman was coming to the big screen. My heart soared and I proceeded then on with cautious optimism. That is, until I heard that a woman was directing it–then I knew it was going to be everything I could want.

But why? Why does it matter who directs it? I’m glad you asked.

fullsizerender

When I first heard these words spoken to my 11 year old self something stirred in me, I was 11 so I had no idea what but for years it never left. Several years later when the TV series became available on iTunes, naturally I bought every one of them, I was able to revisit this feeling.

Men are tortured by this awful demon called masculinity, this causes them to look down on women because that is what their forefathers did, and their forefathers. They have to be strong, brave, and tough. So for a woman to take up the mantle of strong, brave, and tough–this throws off everything they have been taught. Superman saved Lois Lane, not the other way around, Gwen Stacy couldn’t save herself from the Green Goblin she needed Spider-man to do it for her.

When the 50’s came around female representation became that of the housewife, no more Rosie the Riveter because the men have returned and want their jobs back; the women didn’t need to be independent anymore they had their husbands. Wonder Woman was stripped of her powers, and became more interested in fashion rather than stopping Ares.

Enter Gloria Steinem.

A woman who basically saved Wonder Woman from being completely removed from comics. She fought for her to get her powers back, and with lots of wading through patriarchal bullshit she succeeded.

I could go on and on about how I worship at the alter of Gloria because of what she did for my girl Diana, but I digress.

Female representation is important because it benefits everyone. There’s a balance in this world, and instead of being divided because you’re a man and I’m a woman, lets try to even out the seesaw. Feminism isn’t about women ruling the world, enslaving men, or becoming the superior sex; it’s about equality and love and acceptance of everyone. That’s scary because it throws off this toxic masculinity that everyone has come to accept as normal. Change is scary, change means that everything you know is going to become something other than what you’re used to. I get it, I personally am terrified of change when it happens. But when you accept that it’s something that is out of your control, when you allow yourself to sort of bend with the wind instead of fighting against it–wow, it feels so much better than constantly trying to be a wall.

So to every little girl who is going to see Wonder Woman, know that I was there with you. I looked upon her with admiration and love (still do!). Every single person who has played her I respect and occasionally fangirl because damn did they get it right (I’m talking to you Lynda Carter and Susan Eisenberg!). Now we have Gal Gadot in the ranks, and I can honestly say that wow, did they hit the nail on the head with that casting. Wonder Woman is a warrior, but she’s also a humanitarian and a politician. She is the embodiment of love, peace, and strength. Gal Gadot just gets it.

Wonder Woman has always been a special part of my life. My mother was my real life Wonder Woman, when she died I only had Diana Prince and she filled a little bit of the aching void that was left behind. Wonder Woman showed me that I am more, I am enough, and my gender shouldn’t matter when it comes to doing what I want to do.

So thank you to the cast and crew of this exceptional movie.

But most of all, thank you Wonder Woman.

giphy

Author:

Lauren is an eclectic mix of a lot of hobbies. She loves old movies, musical theatre, opera, video games, and many, many other things that would take hours to name.

Leave a Reply

